Fontgirling – Domo Arigato, Roboto

fontgirling_roboto

This will be the first entry in a category-series I call “Fontgirling”. Fontgirling is like fangirling, but you do it over fonts and typographic things that illicit the “SQUEEE” impulse, as would occur when you see something related to you favorite TV show or actor or whatever. If you’re not a designer or someone who partakes in fandom lingo, I really can’t help you beyond that explanation. šŸ˜›

As a creative of any sort, sometimes you’ll come across things that pull a chord within you that makes you just stop and go “OH FUCK YES.” Well, I was rebounding a Dribbble shot and you know how when you open someone else’s PSD and you get those little exclamation marks on type because you don’t have that font installed? Well I went “fuck that, I must have this font” and discovered anĀ elegantĀ new font in the process.

Roboto is really pretty and comes in a zillion weights. I love finding elegant sans serifs Ā that serve multiple purposes. My font boyfriend at this point in time has been Novocento and pretty much the whole Lost Type inventory (I didn’t say I was intoĀ monogamousĀ font relationships), but Roboto will certainly be a newfound joy to plop on absolutely everything.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

